Skip to content

Musing on my attention span

August 14, 2005

Today’s realization:  I’ve become so unacustomed to the habit of
reading things that aren’t quickly paced, tightly plotted, and
engagingly characterized (ie, space opera science fiction, fantasy
novels, and romances) that I’m unable to comfortably read non-fiction,
and slightly dry but engaging literary fiction, anymore.  I’m
going to have to relearn the habit.

I’m currently in the beginning/middle stages of reading Founding Brothers, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, Guns, Germs, and Steel, and Europe: A History.  And I’m nearly finished with A Short History of Nearly Everything,
after about six months of effort.  I need to focus, and decide
that reading non-genre books is important to me, and figure out how to
do it.

I refuse to let myself slide into a pattern of only reading that which is ‘fun’.

One Comment leave one →
  1. The Cataloger permalink
    August 17, 2005 4:17 pm

    I hear that. Oh boy, do I!

Leave a comment